shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Faculty & Staff

Page address: http://english.mnsu.edu/faculty.htm

Mail all correspondence to English faculty or staff at

English Department
Minnesota State University Mankato
230 Armstrong Hall
Mankato, MN 56001
Phone: 507-389-2117
Fax: 507-389-5887

Department Chair

Name Office, telephone Position
Sewell, Matthew AH 201I
507-389-2117
matthew.sewell@mnsu.edu
Chair
Department of English

Staff

Name Office, telephone Position
Olmanson, Elizabeth AH 230
507-389-2117
elizabeth.olmanson@mnsu.edu
Adminstrative Assistant
Department of English

Faculty

Name Office, telephone, e-mail Teaching and research specialties
Armfield, Dawn
Director of Technical Communication
AH 201H
507-389-5511
dawn.armfield@mnsu.edu
User Experience (UX), visual rhetoric, digital rhetoric, emerging technologies, online collaboration
Arnold, Jacqueline
Director of
Comm Art & Lit (Eng Ed)
AH 201E
507-389-2570
jacqueline.arnold@mnsu.edu
Teaching methods, children's and adolescent literature
Ávila, Edward AH 201D
507-389-1155
edward.avila@mnsu.edu
Chicana/o and Latina/o literature and film, multi-ethnic U.S. literature, transnationalism, gender studies, critical theory, cultural studies
Bakke, Abigail AH 201M
507-389-1035
abigail.bakke@mnsu.edu
Rhetoric and technical communication theory, health and medical communication, social media
Banschbach, John

AH 307F
507-389-5501
john.banschbach@mnsu.edu
British literature, teaching methods, children's and young adult literature
Becker, Robin
AH 201F
507-389-2350
robin.becker@mnsu.edu
Creative writing, fiction, zombies, popular culture, composition
Black, Candace AH 212A
507-389-2680
candace.black@mnsu.edu
Creative writing, poetry, nonfiction, women writers
Co-sponsor, Sigma Tau Delta Honor Society
Camp, Heather
 
AH 207F
507-389-5512
heather.camp@mnsu.edu
Composition, writing program administration, teacher development, honors education
Casella, Donna
Co-Director of Film and Media Studies
AH 201A
507-389-5260
donna.casella@mnsu.edu
Film genres, film theory, women filmmakers
Cole, Kirsti
Director of Rhetoric and Composition
 
AH 201G
507-389-1525
kirsti.cole@mnsu.edu
Composition, rhetoric and rhetorical theory, writing in the discipline, women's studies
Drescher, Nancy AH 301A
507-389-5504
nancy.drescher@mnsu.edu
TESL methods, K-12 ESL issues, pragmatics, corpus linguistics
Haque, Danielle AH 201L
507-389-5261
danielle.haque@mnsu.edu
World literature, multi-ethnic United States literature, Arab Anglophone literature, religion and literature, post-colonial literature and theory, literature and the law, writing in diaspora
Henderson Lee, Sarah
Director of EAP
Director of TESL
AH 229C
507-389-1359
sarah.henderson-lee@mnsu.edu
Second language writing, bi(multi)literacy, language socialization, critical pedagogy, TESL teacher education
Herbach, Geoff
Director of Grad Studies
AH 207H
507-389-5936
geoffrey.herbach@mnsu.edu
Creative writing, fiction, screenwriting
Infante, Paolo
ESL Licensure Advisor
AH 212B
507-389-5505
paolo.infante@mnsu.edu
Vygotskian SCT pedagogy, TESL teacher education, cognitive linguistics, K-12 ESL issues
Joseph, Diana
AH 307D
507-389-5144
diana.joseph@mnsu.edu
Creative writing, fiction, women's literature
Lybeck, Karen AH 212D
507-389-5509
karen.lybeck@mnsu.edu
Second language teacher education, second language acquisition, academic English, interlanguage phonology, sociolinguistics
Mason, Lindsy
Director of Composition
AH 307H
507-389-1628
lindsy.mason@mnsu.edu
Composition and composition theory; developmental writing; prison education; and creative writing, specifically creative nonfiction and adult fiction
McCormick, Christopher AH 207I
507-389-5500
chris.mccormick@mnsu.edu
Creative writing, fiction, nonfiction
Nord, Roland AH 229E
507-389-5402
roland.nord@mnsu.edu
Computer-assisted writing and publishing, technical editing, document design, usability
Parks, Sara AH 212C
507-389-1047
sara.parks@mnsu.edu
Team reporting, rhetoric of science, business and technical communication
Poupore, Glen AH 207G
507-389-5503
glen.poupore@mnsu.edu
Task-based and communicative approaches to language teaching, language learner motivation, group work dynamics, story-based texts and film in language teaching
Purdue, Melissa
 
AH 201C
507-389-5510
melissa.purdue@mnsu.edu
18th, 19th, and early 20th-century British literature; postcolonial literature and theory; Gender & Women's Studies; speculative fiction; and Australian literature.
Robbins, Richard
Director of Creative Writing
AH 301L
507-389-1354
richard.robbins@mnsu.edu
Creative writing--poetry, contemporary poetry, Western literature
Rybin, Steven AH 201N
507-389-5506
steven.rybin@mnsu.edu
Film authorship, film performance, film history, film theory
Sewell, Matthew
Department Chair
AH 201I
507-389-1166
matthew.sewell@mnsu.edu
Film, multicultural literature, American literature

Tesdell, Lee
 
AH 229D
507-389-5219
lee.tesdell@mnsu.edu
International technical communication, online help systems, collaboration and teamwork, writing for the web
Veltsos, Jennifer AH 307G
507-389-5507
jennifer.veltsos@mnsu.edu
Visual rhetoric, document design, business and technical communication
Westerman, Gwen
AH 229F
507-389-5508
gwen.westerman@mnsu.edu
American literature, multicultural and Native American literatures, technical communication and Humanities
Williamsen, Elizabeth
Director of Literature & English Studies
AH 201B
507-389-1273
elizabeth.williamsen@mnsu.edu
Medieval and renaissance literature, historical linguistics, Chaucer, Shakespeare, medieval romance, and early travel writing

Faculty Emeriti

Suzanne Bunkers Mary Susan Johnston David Popowski
Terry Davis Donald Larsson Kay Puttock
Curtis Dornberg Jack Lawson Roger Sheffer
William Dyer Nancy MacKenzie Louisa Smith
Jane Earley JoAnna Mink Harry Solo
Terrance Flaherty Anne O'Meara Richard Terrill
Robert Houston John Otis Carol Utoft
Kathleen Hurley Maxine Otis