shortcut to content

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Minnesota State University, Mankato

English Department — Awards

Page address:

2007 Department of English Awards

The MSU Department of English congratulates the following students for their excellence in the study of language, literature, writing, and/or English education.

Norman Adams Award – $230

For an undergraduate major who demonstrates excellence in English language or literature studies:

Nataly Giammona

Eddice B. Barber English Education Award – $800

For an undergraduate English Education major who will student-teach during the upcoming fall or spring terms:

Dana Paasch

Robert L. Carothers Writers Award – $100

For an undergraduate enrolled in a 200-level or above technical communication course:

Nathan J. Madden

Harold Fitterer Award – $400

For a junior in English Education with the highest GPA:

Ashley Topp

Brian Sether Memorial Scholarship – $300

For support of an undergraduate writing student with interdisciplinary and community interests:

Jenna Vogel

Raymond & Florence Sponberg Scholarship – $500

For a female graduate student in her second or third semester:

Nickie Kranz

Marcia Thompson Award – $450

For an accomplished undergraduate major pursuing a career in English Education:

Rene Rasmussen

Robert C. Wright Awards – $1000, $750, and $500

Three awards for undergraduate and graduate students whose writing samples are judged to be the best by an outside judge:

1st — Luke Rolfes
2nd — Antoinette K. Cole
3rd — David Clisbee

Honorable Mention — Bayo Mustapha

Youel English Award 1 – $300

For a graduating major preparing for a career in teaching or writing, or who will pursue graduate work in English language or literature:

Lisa Sikkink

Youel English Award 2 – $300

For a graduating major or minor preparing for a career outside of teaching or writing, and who will not pursue graduate work in English language or literature:

Zachariah Wesley

Composition Merit Award – $50

Abigail Klatt

Cassandra Bjork

Bryan Petzel


Up IconGo to top